Whizpopping Human Beans

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” – Roald Dahl

Anyone who knows me knows how obsessed I am with Roald Dahl. I want to be him when I grow down. A few days ago was Roald Dahl Day – YES! It’s a thing. As I was digging in my computer, I found a poem that I wrote on the plane, after a particularly unpleasant incident with the person sitting in front of me. They had reclined their seat all the way back, so that to drink my tea, all I had to do was stick my tongue out and lap up the liquid. In a fit of passive aggressive defiance, I decided to show my appreciation for this inconsideration with a little poke at his seat. He turned around and gave me a withering look that froze my blood and sent my imagination spiraling out of control.

As I contemplated his glare I scribbled this little piece. I feel it has a Roald Dahl-esque twist at the end, no? Ok, then it is just me. As you will see, I am a sucker for rhyme!

He scowled and growled and snarled at me
He furrowed his brow and peered down at me
He grabbed my big toe and yanked a bit
He twisted and twirled and pulled at it
He turned and unscrewed and off it popped
He unzipped his blue bag and in it dropped

He looked at me in great delight
If any of your toes reach my sight
I have plenty of space in my big blue bag
For wayward fingers and toes that wag’

I stared ahead at the airplane seat
Resisting the urge to look down at my feet
He turned and grinned a smile of delight
And wiggled his big toe as if in spite
So dearest Gina, please forgive me so
From Nairobi to London, I lost my big toe!

(The fabulous sketch is by my favourite Kenyan illustrator, Reeves Kibet. He did it in literally 5 minutes!)

And a few announcements.

1.) Thanks to some wonderful angels that responded to my call for help with Njugu George, I managed to raise this term’s fees. Shukraan. May you be always be blessed. Thank you. Deeply. I shall keep you informed on our young explorer’s progress.

2.) The Storymoja Festival starts tomorrow. I LOVE the Festival, and you will too. Please come. I don’t have space here to say just how gobsmackingly INCREDIBLE it is. You can check out the programme at www.storymojafestival.com – I will be doing a few sessions, so do come and say hi 🙂

3.) I got an email the other day that had me squealing and yelping. A story I submitted made it to the Golden Baobab African Children’s Literature Prize longlist (phew that is a mouthful). I am simply not cool enough not to be excited by this! Eeeeeks. Check it out, http://www.goldenbaobab.org/baobab-blog and keep all your limbs crossed, and eyes, and nostrils too.

Happy Belated Roald Dahl Day Human Beans.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Whizpopping Human Beans

  1. Fantastic Mr. Fox, Charlie and the chocolate factory, The twits, should I go on???? I love Roald Dahl and I love that they made a movie out of Fantastic Mr. Fox and it was fantastic *whistle* click click. Than you for reminding me of such warm memories and congratulations.

Leave a Reply

